Street Scape Odyssey – a zine capturing moments from a British summer

Screen Shot 2016-07-10 at 10.15.29 am Screen Shot 2016-07-10 at 10.16.41 am

Creating these three issues has been occupying my mind for the full week of my return to Australia. Inspired by a zine from Printed Matter in New York titled ‘A Walking Tour of Unexpected Art of the Lower East Side, NYC’, I walked from Liverpool St station to Old Spitalfields Market then onto Brick Lane and nearby laneways. It was early on a Monday, the ubiquitous grey sky and gentle rain fell, and my iPhone did its best to capture the vitality of an urban area contending with renewal and social commentary.

Street Scape Odyssey - Kerri-Jane Burke June 2016

I’d planned to walk and contemplate, perhaps do some journal writing before creating a zine, yet the weather wasn’t conducive and forced me to take haven in doorways and under awnings on several occasions. Two others taking photographs – long lens and very proper looking cameras – momentarily eroded my confidence, but I was in too deep: just check the images later – surely some will be ok …

Screen Shot 2016-07-10 at 10.17.46 am

The writing never really came as a cohesive narrative. Instead, I found myself netting passing thoughts and overheard conversations about media covered events – the EU referendum and assassination of Jo Cox – and everyday moments that bind humanity together.

Screen Shot 2016-07-10 at 10.17.22 am

Apart from jet lag and my own everyday concerns, including our own general election hilarity, this has occupied my writing mind and taken me away from completing posts originally started while travelling home. Now that the zines are complete, I’ll get back to finishing my earlier posts and attempt to return to regular life in preparation for my return to work next Monday.

Screen Shot 2016-07-10 at 10.21.46 am

Read all three issues at My Zines page.

Find out more about street art in Shoreditch, including an explanatory video.

Leave a Reply

